CABINET MEMBER FOR EDUCATION & WELSH LANGUAGE

FRIDAY, 7 July 2023

PRESENT: Councillor: G. Davies (Cabinet Member).

The following officers were in attendance:

T. Neumayer-James, Principal School Governance Officer

K. Thomas, Democratic Services Officer

Virtual Meeting - 9.00 - 9.15 am

1. DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST

There were no declarations of personal interest.

2. TO SIGN AS A CORRECT RECORD THE DECISION RECORD OF THE MEETING HELD ON THE 12TH MAY 2023

RESOLVED that the decision record of the meeting held on the 12th May 2023 be signed as a correct record.

3. APPOINTMENT OF LA GOVERNORS

The Cabinet Member considered applications received for Local Authority Governor vacancies within the county. Nominations had been invited from the Chairperson, Head teacher and Local Member(s) in the case of Primary Schools/the member(s) who were governors in the case of Secondary Schools.

It was noted that Local Authority Governors are appointed for 4 years and where the vacancy has occurred as a result of an individual's term of office coming to an end, this was noted in the details for that particular person if he/she was seeking appointment.

It was also noted that all County Councillors, when elected, could stipulate on which school governing bodies they would sit, and their decision would take preference over 'non-elected' LA Governors. Consequently, County Councillors could nominate to serve as LA Governors on a school that did not have a vacant post and in the event of the governorship becoming oversubscribed, the Council would stipulate which LA Governor was required to stand down.

RESOLVED that, in order to meet statutory obligations for filling vacancies on Governing Bodies and having considered the applications received, the following appointments be made to vacancies for Local Authority Governors:-

Primary School	Appointments
Bro Banw	Mrs K. Hughes
(1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	



Gorslas (2 x vacancy -1 current and one from 2 nd September 2023 - 2 nominations)	Mr M. Jenkins Mr C. Davies
Johnstown (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Miss K. Gardner
Llandeilo (2 x vacancy - 1 current and one from 12 th July 2023 - 2 nomination)	Cllr Edward Thomas Mr C. New
Llandybie (1 vacancy from 15 th July 2023 – 1 nomination)	Mrs E Williams
Pwll (1 vacancy – 1 nomination)	Mr. R. Staines
St Mary's Llanelli (1 vacancy – 1 nomination)	Mrs C. Cooper
Tycroes (1 vacancy – 1 nomination)	Mr S. Taylor
Y Dderwen (2 vacancies from 25 th September 2023 – 2 nominations)	Mr A. Charles Cllr Emlyn Schiavone

Secondary School	Appointments
Emlyn	Mrs M. Peckham
(3 x vacancy - 2 nomination)	Mr M. Morden
Maes y Gwendraeth	Mrs D. Williams
(2x vacancy – 2 x nomination)	Ms M. Maddock

CABINET MEMBER	DATE

